-
You can manage & track your card collection and decks once you create an account and login.

Do It With Style!
Autobot Jazz, Special Ops
Wave 9: Ark Exodus (ver 1.1)
Number: 08
Common
1★
Concept by Wes Robinson
Can be used with:
Autobot Jazz, Special Ops
Autobot
Replace the text "an enemy that doesn't have Pierce" on your Autobot Jazz, Special Ops with "an enemy that has 8 ★ or fewer."
Relevant Rulings
Common Megatron is in Bot mode. He has Grenade Launcher equipped giving him +4 attack. He attacks Barrage in Bot mode. Megatron does not flip any orange icons and Barrage does not flip any blue icons. Megatron's attack is 8 w/Pierce 3 (due to his ability), while Barrage has 2 defense. Does he only deal 6 damage for the entire attack or 3 only due to his Pierce 3?
6. Pierce is a minimum damage.
Source: Wizards of the Coast (2019-01-25)    【Link to Ruling】
Tags: Megatron, Decepticon Leader, Pierce
Arcee is in Bot mode. She attacks Barrage in Bot mode. Arcee flips 3 orange icons and Barrage flips 2 blue icons. Arcee's attack is 4 w/Pierce 4 (due to her ability), while Barrage has 4 defense. Does she only deal 0 damage for the entire attack or 4 only due to her Pierce 4?
After flipping the three orange, she has Pierce 4, meaning she would do a minimum of 4 damage.
Source: Wizards of the Coast (2019-01-25)    【Link to Ruling】
Tags: Arcee, Skilled Fighter, Pierce
Arcee is in Bot mode. She attacks Barrage in Bot mode. Arcee does not flip any orange icons and Barrage flips 2 blue icons. Arcee's attack is 1 w/Pierce 1 (due to her ability), while Barrage has 4 defense. Does she only deal 0 damage for the entire attack or 1 only due to her Pierce 1?
In this scenario, Arcee deals 1 damage.
Source: Wizards of the Coast (2019-01-25)    【Link to Ruling】
Tags: Arcee, Skilled Fighter, Pierce
Does Jazz's ability work with Stable Cover? Stable Cover implies that the enemy still has Pierce, they just can't use it, while Jazz states "an enemy that doesn't have Pierce".
As stated, the enemy still has Pierce so Jazz's alt mode ability does not trigger.
Source: Aequitas (2020-11-11)    【Link to Ruling】
Tags: Stable Cover, Autobot Jazz, Special Ops, Pierce
Some cards refer to Autobots or Decepticons. How do I know which characters are Autobots?

Autobots have a red frame and the Autobot insignia in the lower right corner. Decepticons have a purple frame and the Decepticon insignia in the lower right corner. A few characters have "Autobot" or "Decepticon" in their names, although these aren’t the only Autobots and Decepticons.
Source: Wizards of the Coast (2018-10-11)    【Link to Ruling】
Tags: Autobot, Decepticon
How does Pierce work?

Pierce tells you the minimum amount of damage a character can do in an attack, although a character can never do more damage than its attack total. For example, say a character with Pierce 2 attacks. After flipping battle cards, the attack total is 5 and the defense total is 4. Normally, the character with Pierce would do only 1 damage, but because of Pierce, it does 2 damage instead. This also works if the attack total is equal to or less than the defense total. Say the attacker has an attack total of 5, but this time it runs into a massive defense total of 9. If that character had Pierce 2, it would still do 2 damage. If the character with Pierce 2 had an attack total of only 1, it would do 1 damage against any defense total.
Source: Wizards of the Coast (2018-10-11)    【Link to Ruling】
Tags: Pierce
Can other effects change the amount of damage done after Pierce is applied?

Yes. For example, say a character with Pierce 4 attacks Insecticon Skrapnel in bot mode. (He has the ability "This can't take more than 3 attack damage from a single attack.") After battle cards are flipped, the attacking character would do 2 damage, but Pierce raises that to 4. Insecticon Skrapnel’s ability would then reduce the damage done to 3.
Source: Wizards of the Coast (2018-10-11)    【Link to Ruling】
Tags: Pierce
If I have a character with Pierce 2 (for example), and equip it with an upgrade that gives Pierce 4, the Pierce would be the greatest one or the sum of both?

Pierce stacks, so it would be 6.
Source: Wizards of the Coast (2019-02-11)    【Link to Ruling】
Tags: Pierce
There's now an upgrade that says "Opponents cannot have more than Bold 2" or something to that effect. Mechanically, 3 instances of Bold 2 have worked the same as Bold 6. It hasn't been explicitly said that Bold and Tough stack just like Pierce, so does it?

Yes. Bold, Tough, Pierce, and other key words with numerical values do stack.
Source: Wizards of the Coast (2019-10-11)    【Link to Ruling】
Tags: Pierce, Bold, Tough
When do you choose to add stratagems out of your sideboard? When declaring characters or when sideboarding battlecards?

Stratagems are played concurrently with the starting team for a game. This is required otherwise cards like Master Converter and Aerial Enhancements would not effect the starting team, leading Windsweeper to be sad when Blitzwing and Tracks don't count as Planes.
Source: Aequitas (2021-01-03)    【Link to Ruling】
Tags: Stratagem
Does a stratagem changing the attack/defence of a character change the base values for the character?

No. For example, if Private Pteraxadon’s Binary Edgewing Scythe upgrade mode removes the base defense from a defending Windblade, Combiner Hunter, it would not remove the +1 from the Camien Toughness stratagem.
Source: Aequitas (2022-08-23)    【Link to Ruling】
Tags: Stratagem
How many stratagems can I play?

You can play up to one stratagem for each different character, trait, or faction listed on the stratagem, as long as your starting team includes that character, trait, or faction. For example, if your starting team is all Autobots and includes Optimus Prime - Legendary Warrior, you can play both Heroic Spotlight and Duty & Honor.
Source: Wizards of the Coast (2020-05-09)    【Link to Ruling】
Tags: Stratagem
Where do I put my stratagems?

Stratagems go on the battlefield. At the beginning of the game, as you reveal your team, you also reveal your stratagems.
Source: Wizards of the Coast (2020-05-09)    【Link to Ruling】
Tags: Stratagem
Some stratagems have an ability that causes them to flip. What does that mean?

Flipping a stratagem essentially turns its ability off. This happens on one-time abilities to remind you that you've already used them.
Source: Wizards of the Coast (2020-05-09)    【Link to Ruling】
Tags: Stratagem
Does a stratagem count as a card in my deck of battle cards?

No. Stratagems are never put into your deck.
Source: Wizards of the Coast (2020-05-09)    【Link to Ruling】
Tags: Stratagem
Can I put stratagems in my sideboard?

Yes. Each one counts as one of your ten battle cards in the sideboard.
Source: Wizards of the Coast (2020-05-09)    【Link to Ruling】
Tags: Stratagem
How should Stratagems be treated when using a W5 pack in Turbo?

Treat it like a regular star card.
Source: Wizards of the Coast (2020-06-10)    【Link to Ruling】
Tags: Stratagem, Turbo Rules
Recent Decks Using This Card
I Can Dance All Day
Deck Traits: Autobot Leader Car Melee Ranged
Deck: 40🂠 25★ | Sideboard: 0🂠 0★ Added by Matafer [The Ark] Modified on Sep 27, '23

Characters
Autobot Jazz 6★
Special Ops
Red Alert 6★
Security Chief
Private Smokescreen 7★
Special Ops • Soldier

Stratagems
Obfuscating Cloud 1★
Private Smokescreen, Special Ops • Soldier
Do It With Style! 1★
Autobot Jazz, Special Ops
Paranoia 1★
Red Alert, Security Chief
Sideboard
None
Actions
Regular Actions
3 Start Your Engines
3 Leap of Faith 1★
3 Diagnosis
3 Head-On Collision
3 New Orders
1 Reprocess
2 Hit and Run
3 Sparring Lessons
Upgrades
Weapons
3 Piercing Blaster
3 Anticipation Engine
1 Smokethrower
1 Sturdy Javelin
Armor
3 Medic's Protective Field
3 Emergency Repair Patch
Utilities
3 Turbo Boosters
2 Toolbox
Deck Stats
21 action cards
  21 regular action cards
  0 secret action cards
  0 rolling action cards
19 upgrade cards
  8 weapon cards
  6 armor cards
  5 utility cards

Battle Icons in Deck
6 icons on 6 cards (15%)
6 icons on 6 cards (15%)
21 icons on 21 cards (53%)
3 icons on 3 cards (8%)
6 icons on 6 cards (15%)
0 icons on 0 cards (0%)
Battle Simulator
Set Tough/Bold:
7%
6%
6%
5%
4%
4%
4%
Likelihood of Flipping
+2 Bonus Flip: 78%
Reprocess: 8%
Toolbox: 18%
Sets Used In Deck
Wave 1: 10 cards
Wave 1S: 1 cards
Wave 2: 3 cards
Wave 3: 7 cards
Wave 4: 14 cards
Wave 5: 5 cards
Wave 7: 1 cards
Wave 8: 3 cards
Wave 9: 2 cards