Wave 5A: Fortress Maximus Set
[Head] + Bold 1
, Tough 1
This begins on Fortress Maximus, Great War Veteran in head mode. This begins with a character on him in head mode. This can't flip.
When Fortress Maximus is KO'd 🠪 Deploy this to the battlefield in body mode, even if Fortress Maximus was your last character.
The Grenade Launcher will be scrapped after battle. This is in contrast to Fusion Borer, which would stay on Cerebros after the attack.
This is due to a change in language as the game evolved. Early on, WotC used language like "After the upgraded character attacks -> Scrap this card.". Later, they adjusted to "When the upgraded character attacks/defends -> Scrap this card after the battle.". This newer language ties the scrap to the more common "When battles" trigger and not to the rarely used "After battle" trigger".
The same is true for other older cards like Evasive Maneuvers, Blast Shield, and Power Punch, vs newer cards like Emergency Barricade and Crystal of Power.
Card requirements are inclusive, not exclusive. However, in this case, Cerebros' Head is not active on the battlefield, so it doesn't contribute its faction identity or traits to the character. So, a Decepticon Head of Cerebros doesn't let you play a Scoundrel's Blaster on Fortress Maximus.
A heads deploy ability is a triggered ability. When both players trigger an ability at the same time the active players abilities will complete before the defending player. A player may order their own simultaneous triggers how they wish. The player controlling Quake may order Quakes damage trigger and Quakes heads deploy trigger such that Quakes damage ability resolves first, and Quakes head second. If Octones controller is the active player, they must use Octones bounty trigger before the defending player resolves their heads deploy trigger.This answer is an update on the originally published answer in the Roundup
An important rule to remember: The game checks for a player controlling zero characters at all times. However, Head character's deploy ability includes the following: 'When that character is KO'ed, even if it was your last character, deploy this battlefield in bot mode.' This is why you don't lose if your last character, a Body with a head, gets KOed.
Card requirements are inclusive, not exclusive. This character fulfils both the Autobot and Leader requirements on Matrix of Leadership, so you may play the card on the character and the 'While on a Leader' ability will function.
Cards try to do as much as they can. You can play Unconventional Flying Object even if you don't have a Spaceship and it will only accomplish putting the Action into your scrap. There are a handful of Upgrades like Crushing Treads that are restricted to play on say "Put only on a Tank." - you can't play that card unless you have the specific kind of character to put it on. After you successfully put it on the right kind of character, the game won't check anymore if the upgrade is valid, so the character can flip to Bot mode, stop being a Tank, and the Upgrade will stay on.
An important rule to remember: The active player chooses in which order to resolve simultaneously triggered abilities.
Autobots have a red frame and the Autobot insignia in the lower right corner. Decepticons have a purple frame and the Decepticon insignia in the lower right corner. A few characters have "Autobot" or "Decepticon" in their names, although these aren’t the only Autobots and Decepticons.
No. A character in Body mode is not also in Bot mode.
This means that cards like Escape Route do not flip a Body mode character to Alt mode. For an example of a card that works with both Body mode and Bot mode characters, look at how Mission Briefing explicitly says 'in bot mode or body mode'.
Note that cards like Start Your Engines and Hunker Down do not flip the characters from Body mode to Alt mode, however if the characters have Car and Tank traits respectively, they still get the secondary effects of those cards.
Titan Masters Attack introduces two new character modes that work together: head mode and body mode.
Cards with a head mode are placed above a character that has a body mode, combining them into a single character. The resulting character is a single character made up of both cards. The body mode card will tell you the character's stats and abilities, and the head mode card will give the character a bonus. That bonus may be an added ability or an increase to attack, defense, or health. Like other characters, that character starts the game in alt mode. If the character is KO'd, even if it's your last character card, the card with head mode is returned to the battlefield in bot mode. That bot mode character can't flip.
Yes. Each card's stars count toward the 25-star limit. During the game, the character has all the stars from its two cards.
The body mode card can flip back and forth, from alt mode to body mode. The head mode card doesn't flip, so its bonus always applies, no matter which mode the character is in.
Yes. They're completely mix-and-match. You could even put an Autobot head onto a Decepticon body, or vice versa.
Both. The character is both an Autobot and a Decepticon.
No. In order to qualify as "only Autobots," your starting deck can't have any characters that are another faction (even if they're also Autobots).
You can but note that each card is a separate character card. This means you could have a character card with a head mode or one with a body mode in your sideboard, but not both.