You can manage & track your card collection and decks once you create an account and login.

Can a card target something even if it won't have an effect? For example, can Unconventional Flying Object target a Body mode character?

Cards try to do as much as they can. You can play Unconventional Flying Object even if you don't have a Spaceship and it will only accomplish putting the Action into your scrap. There are a handful of Upgrades like Crushing Treads that are restricted to play on say "Put only on a Tank." - you can't play that card unless you have the specific kind of character to put it on. After you successfully put it on the right kind of character, the game won't check anymore if the upgrade is valid, so the character can flip to Bot mode, stop being a Tank, and the Upgrade will stay on.

An important rule to remember: The active player chooses in which order to resolve simultaneously triggered abilities.
Source: Wizards of the Coast (2020-06-10)    【Link to Ruling】
Tags: Head, Body, Play