-
You can manage & track your card collection and decks once you create an account and login.

Term: Play Rulings
Does transforming a Car-mode character in the KO pile activate Cliffjumper's alternate mode ability?

Not unless specifically stated. K.O.’d characters flipping wont trigger any abilities unless otherwise stated.
Source: Wizards of the Coast (2019-01-25)    【Link to Ruling】
Tags: KO, Play
Am I allowed to count the cards remaining in my deck (Obviously without looking at them face up)? Am I allowed to look through my scrap pile at any time, or only when prompted from a card? (e.g. Wheeljack or Jetfire)

Yes and yes.
Source: Wizards of the Coast (2019-01-25)    【Link to Ruling】
Tags: Play
Must I attack every turn?

You must attack if you are able.
Source: Wizards of the Coast (2019-01-25)    【Link to Ruling】
Tags: Play
Must I flip a character every turn?

No. It’s your choice whether or not to flip a character.
Source: Wizards of the Coast (2019-01-25)    【Link to Ruling】
Tags: Play
The rulebook says "When your turn ends, put all battle cards you flipped for attacks during that turn into your scrap pile. Also put any Actions you played that turn into your scrap pile." When do you scrap the cards the defender flipped for attacks?

At the same time.
Source: Wizards of the Coast (2019-01-25)    【Link to Ruling】
Tags: Play
Can you play action cards in your opponents turn when you’re responding to their attack and secondly can you have as many battle cards in your deck as you want, as long as it’s a minimum of 40?

No, you may only play Actions if you have an Action play which is generally during your turn before you attack. You can have as many battle cards as you want over 40 as long as you can reasonably manage them.
Source: Wizards of the Coast (2019-02-11)    【Link to Ruling】
Tags: Play, Deck
What counts as Attack Damage and what doesn't?

Attack Damage is damage dealt by the attacking character as a result of an attack. Any other damage, including damage dealt during an attack because of an ability, is non-attack damage.
Source: Wizards of the Coast (2019-02-18)    【Link to Ruling】
Tags: Play
What happens if for any reason I`m unable to reshuffle my deck in the middle of an attack

Do as much as you can. If you run out of cards in your deck and scrap pile during a battle, stop flipping and resolve that attack.
Source: Wizards of the Coast (2019-02-18)    【Link to Ruling】
Tags: Play
If I manage to draw my entire deck into my hand, is my deck in constant reshuffle?

No. You need to actually shuffle cards in to have a successful shuffle.
Source: Wizards of the Coast (2019-02-18)    【Link to Ruling】
Tags: Play
If we play a game of sealed, that has a ton of bold shenanigans going on, and I flip my deck, shuffle up, scrap, and flip all of my new deck but am still owed more flips, am I just out of luck?

Yes.
Source: Wizards of the Coast (2019-02-18)    【Link to Ruling】
Tags: Play
To scrap an upgrade from my own character, would I need a new upgrade in my hand, or can I just scrap it without a replacement upgrade?

You need a new upgrade to replace a scrapped upgrade. Your robots like their weapons and don’t cotton to giving them up willingly.
Source: Wizards of the Coast (2019-03-22)    【Link to Ruling】
Tags: Play
When playing Best 2 out of 3, how do you decide who goes first after the first match?

There aren’t official rules for this, but we recommended letting the loser of the first game choosing who goes first in the next game.
Source: Wizards of the Coast (2019-04-01)    【Link to Ruling】
Tags: Play
If you run out of cards in a deck, do you shuffle immediately or wait until you have to draw/flip?

Reshuffle immediately.
Source: Wizards of the Coast (2019-04-05)    【Link to Ruling】
Tags: Play
Scenario: You've just reshuffled your scrap pile, you have a very large hand, and you go into battle with a lot of bold. You run out of cards in your deck to flip, and there are no cards in your scrap pile. What happens?

You stop flipping and immediately regret holding onto so many cards.
Source: Wizards of the Coast (2019-04-05)    【Link to Ruling】
Tags: Play
When determining who goes first, does whoever wins the method used get to choose who goes first or do they HAVE to go first?

For casual games, especially with newer players, we recommend the person randomly chosen goes first. For more serious, competitive games, that player can choose to go first or second.
Source: Wizards of the Coast (2019-04-12)    【Link to Ruling】
Tags: Play
The Round Up two weeks ago mentioned that the loser of game 1 picks who goes first for game 2, and so on for game 3. However, the official and most recent FAQ that’s published says that the player who starts the game alternates. Which should we go by, officially, for the tiebreaker?

The player who goes first alternating is meant for casual play. In a multi-game structure or best two-out-of-three scenario, the loser of one game chooses who goes first in the next game.
Source: Wizards of the Coast (2019-04-12)    【Link to Ruling】
Tags: Play
It is my turn; my opponent is tapped out. I have one untapped Bot, I play Inferno Breath and tap my bot to deal 3 damage. It is now my turn to attack, but I have no bots to attack. I figure we will both untap, but who goes next? Do I attack as I have not attacked for my turn? Is it my opponent’s turn even, though I did not attack? Rules state you must attack each turn.

If you have no untapped characters when it’s time to attack, you simply skip the attack and your turn ends. In the scenario you described, all characters will untap and your opponent’s turn will begin.
Source: Wizards of the Coast (2019-04-12)    【Link to Ruling】
Tags: Play
When you play an action, is it set aside until the turn ends because I've seen people do that? Or when you play an action, is it set aside until it fully concludes its skill?

All actions (and cards you flip for the battle) go into the played area until the end of the turn, when they are scrapped. (Secret Actions may stay in the played area a little longer).
Source: Wizards of the Coast (2019-04-12)    【Link to Ruling】
Tags: Play
Say I have 2 untapped bots and my opponent's bots are all tapped out. I do my first attack and flip. Do those cards go to the scrap pile after damage is done?

They go to the scrap pile at the end of your turn.
Source: Wizards of the Coast (2019-04-12)    【Link to Ruling】
Tags: Play
If my opponent has all tapped enemies and I have 3 untapped enemies, do I start my regular turn drawing my card, flipping one character, playing one action and upgrade, then attack with all 3 of my character one after another skipping the opponents turns until all of my characters are tapped? Or after each attack I make is my opponent allowed to draw a card, flip, and play an action and upgrade?

All three attacks happen during the same turn. After your turn is done, then your opponent’s turn begins.
Source: Wizards of the Coast (2019-04-26)    【Link to Ruling】
Tags: Play
Do the abilities that last "until end of turn" last until the end of your attack or until all cards untap?

Neither! They last until the end of your turn. Usually, the attack is the last thing to happen during a turn, but this isn’t always true. As abilities can trigger both after the attack and at the end of turn and untapping.
Source: Wizards of the Coast (2019-04-26)    【Link to Ruling】
Tags: Play
If my opponent has one tapped character and I have two untapped characters and I start my turn. I draw a card, flip a character for the turn and play an upgrade but no action. I attack with my first character. Since it is still my turn and I can attack one more time, can I play my one action for the turn for the second attack rather than the first if the scenario is more favorable? Or do all sequence events have to be done before all attacks?

Attacking is the last thing you do in your turn. So, if you want to play an action, you must do so before your first attack.
Source: Wizards of the Coast (2019-05-28)    【Link to Ruling】
Tags: Play
Are cards flipped during battle the only ones that don't hit the Scrap Pile until the end of a turn?

Actions that are played (including Secret Actions), cards you flipped during battle, and other cards you flip due to cards like Swarm!, for example, are all scrapped at the end of turn.
Source: Wizards of the Coast (2019-06-28)    【Link to Ruling】
Tags: Play
If a card says reveal does it come into play or go back to the top. Example if I have Anticipation Engine and I reveal an upgrade does it stay in the play area until the end of turn, or go to the top of deck?

Just revealing a card doesn’t cause it to move.
Source: Wizards of the Coast (2019-06-28)    【Link to Ruling】
Tags: Play
Can you scrap cards from your hand? This came up from playing a lot of the Turbo format with my kids. Inevitably someone had one or two cards that you couldn't play with the characters. If you're allowed to scrap them from your hand when drawn it would still allow those cards to be useful for the pips when battling.

You cannot scrap cards from your hand for no reason or simply because you'd like to, but there are a plethora of effects in the game (such as green battle icons) that allow you to swap cards in and out of your hand.
Source: Wizards of the Coast (2019-07-12)    【Link to Ruling】
Tags: Play
Concerning “start of turn” effects timing around the drawing 1 card from the general card rules: which of the following is true:
You Draw 1 card from general game rules, then activate Start of Turn Effects (like Omnibots’ start of turn effects playing upgrades).
2. You activate Start of Turn Effects, then Draw 1 card from general game rules.
3. Drawing 1 Card from general game rules counts as a Start of Turn Effect, and can be resolved in the order of the player's choosing.


1.
Source: Wizards of the Coast (2019-07-29)    【Link to Ruling】
Tags: Play
I have run into a situation where my deck had no cards and no discard pile to shuffle in. We ruled it as when I attacked or defended, I had no cards to flip so I added 0 to my attack and defense. We were wondering if this would be a proper ruling. Second, for the card Inverted. It says that for each orange pip you flip becomes a blue pip and vice versa. For cards that rely on you flipping a certain color pip, do the pips flipped count as what they are or the inverted color?

When you have no deck left, you just don’t flip any cards. Inverted’s effect applies immediately. For example, if an ability triggers whenever you flip two orange icons, and you flip two blue icons under Inverted (meaning the cards literally have blue icons printed on them), that ability will trigger.
Source: Wizards of the Coast (2019-07-29)    【Link to Ruling】
Tags: Inverted!, Play
What is the Extra Turn Rule?

Players can’t take more than two turns in a row under any circumstances. Any additional turns beyond two consecutive turns are skipped and not deferred or saved for the future.
Source: Wizards of the Coast (2019-11-21)    【Link to Ruling】
Tags: Play
How do you tap a card?

If a card is tapped, it must be clearly turned approximately 90 degrees.
Source: Wizards of the Coast (2019-11-21)    【Link to Ruling】
Tags: Play
What is Hidden Information?

Hidden information refers to information a player isn’t allowed access to, such as the faces of cards in an opponent’s hand.
Throughout the match and pregame procedures, players are responsible for keeping their cards above the level of the playing surface and for making reasonable efforts to prevent hidden information from being revealed.
However, players may choose to reveal their hands or any other hidden information available only to them, unless specifically prohibited by the rules. Players must not actively attempt to gain information hidden from them.
Source: Wizards of the Coast (2019-11-21)    【Link to Ruling】
Tags: Play
Can a card target something even if it won't have an effect? For example, can Unconventional Flying Object target a Body mode character?

Cards try to do as much as they can. You can play Unconventional Flying Object even if you don't have a Spaceship and it will only accomplish putting the Action into your scrap. There are a handful of Upgrades like Crushing Treads that are restricted to play on say "Put only on a Tank." - you can't play that card unless you have the specific kind of character to put it on. After you successfully put it on the right kind of character, the game won't check anymore if the upgrade is valid, so the character can flip to Bot mode, stop being a Tank, and the Upgrade will stay on.

An important rule to remember: The active player chooses in which order to resolve simultaneously triggered abilities.
Source: Wizards of the Coast (2020-06-10)    【Link to Ruling】
Tags: Head, Body, Play