-
You can manage & track your card collection and decks once you create an account and login.

Keyword: Safeguard Rulings
What is Safeguard?

Safeguard is a new keyword ability that limits how much damage can be done to a character that’s undamaged.
Source: Wizards of the Coast (2019-11-08)    【Link to Ruling】
Tags: Safeguard
Does Safeguard apply to all damage or just attack damage?

All damage, including damage done by Actions or other abilities.
Source: Wizards of the Coast (2019-11-08)    【Link to Ruling】
Tags: Safeguard
Does Safeguard work if something tries to move a damage counter onto the character while it’s undamaged?

No. Moving damage counters doesn’t count as damaging the character, although after the damage counter is moved, the character will be damaged and Safeguard will no longer work. Sneaky!
Source: Wizards of the Coast (2019-11-08)    【Link to Ruling】
Tags: Safeguard
Can Safeguard apply to the same character more than once?

Yes. Safeguard works as long as the character is currently undamaged, even if it was previously damaged in the game. If you repair that damage, Safeguard can cushion another blow.
Source: Wizards of the Coast (2019-11-08)    【Link to Ruling】
Tags: Safeguard
How does Steamroll and Grimlock, Dinobot Leader's bot mode ability work when KO'ing an undamaged character with Safeguard?

Attempting to Steamroll into an undamaged character with three health, such as Slammer, Combat Drone, and Safeguard 3 (for example Medic's Protective Field) will first see the damage reduced to 3 damage, and then KO the defender. No additional attack damage would be available to be steamrolled into another enemy.
Source: Aequitas (2022-08-23)    【Link to Ruling】
Tags: Safeguard