-
You can manage & track your card collection and decks once you create an account and login.

Rules Roundup: 2019-07-12
I have a question about Wave 1 Shockwave's bot mode ability. If I cause my opponent to scrap several cards at once (like with Fog of War), do they take 1 damage per card they scrap of just 1 damage in total.

1 damage per card scrapped.
Source: Wizards of the Coast (2019-07-12)    【Link to Ruling】
Tags: Decepticon Shockwave, Cybertron Commander
If Thrust has a Grenade Launcher and boosts a character that is attacking, and the opponent reveals a Bolster, to play a Scrapper Gauntlets to scrap the Grenade Launcher, does Thrust donate 7 or 3 attack to the attacking character?

7 attack. The amount has already been locked in.
Source: Wizards of the Coast (2019-07-12)    【Link to Ruling】
Tags: Thrust, Supersonic Interceptor
I was playing with Bombshell - Decepticon Psy Ops with 5 health left, against Shockwave - Cybertron Commander. I scrapped 11 cards to KO him, but should his bot mode ability have triggered, killing me in the process?

Shockwave's ability will trigger 11 times, but if those are the last two characters on the battlefield, your opponent will lose the game because Shockwave has been KO'd by Bombshell's ability, but Bombshell is not yet KO'd by Shockwave's ability.
Source: Wizards of the Coast (2019-07-12)    【Link to Ruling】
Tags: Decepticon Shockwave, Cybertron Commander
Does Skywarp - Teleporting Seeker's bot mode ability trigger when playing a Secret Action from hand since the pip color is hidden information from your opponent? Will his bot mode ability trigger if it is played from the top of the deck via Leap of Faith since the pip color is no longer hidden information?

Yes, Skywarp's bot mode ability would be triggered by a Secret Action as the battle icon color is hidden. It will still trigger if Leap of Faith plays a Secret Action because at the time you play the Secret Action, the Secret Action has no battle icons (it's not very secret).
Source: Wizards of the Coast (2019-07-12)    【Link to Ruling】
Tags:
Focus says "Before flipping battle cards when battling>, and Anticipation Engine says "When the upgraded character attacks>. Will Anticipation Engine trigger and resolve before Focus?

Yes.
Source: Wizards of the Coast (2019-07-12)    【Link to Ruling】
Tags:
Can you scrap cards from your hand? This came up from playing a lot of the Turbo format with my kids. Inevitably someone had one or two cards that you couldn't play with the characters. If you're allowed to scrap them from your hand when drawn it would still allow those cards to be useful for the pips when battling.

You cannot scrap cards from your hand for no reason or simply because you'd like to, but there are a plethora of effects in the game (such as green battle icons) that allow you to swap cards in and out of your hand.
Source: Wizards of the Coast (2019-07-12)    【Link to Ruling】
Tags: Play
With Pop a Wheelie, the 2nd attack isn't from the same bot that attacked the turn the card was played, correct? I would need to have another untapped motorcycle make the 2nd attack?

Correct. If you have another untapped motorcycle on your team, you can attack again. However, note that the first attacker does not have to be a motorcycle.
Source: Wizards of the Coast (2019-07-12)    【Link to Ruling】
Tags:
If I attack with a character that is equipped with Battering Ram and deal damage to a Triple Changer, does my opponent get to choose the mode they change to or do they have to change from Alt 1 to character and vice versa.

Your opponent can choose which mode of its other modes to flip to.
Source: Wizards of the Coast (2019-07-12)    【Link to Ruling】
Tags:
Grapple reads you get an attack/defence bonus for flipping battle icons of "exactly 4 different colors". What happens when you flip MORE than 4 colors during your turn, say green, orange, white, green and black? Does his ability still trigger? And does this also apply to his ability on other side of the card?

If a number of *colors* other than four colors is flipped, Grapple's bot mode ability will not trigger. For his alt mode ability, you can still scrap your hand, but you will only do damage if you've scrapped exactly four different battle icon colors.

Editor's note: It's important when considering Grapple's abilities to make a distinction between the number of battle icon *colors* and the number of battle icons. So long as the number of battle icon colors is exactly 4, the number of cards they appear on do not matter. So, in the scenario described in this question, his ability would trigger as four colors appear, even though there are multiple instances of a green battle icon.
Source: Wizards of the Coast (2019-07-12)    【Link to Ruling】
Tags: Grapple, Autobot Architect
Do you have to attach the Battle Master's Upgrade side? My Wife pulled 2 Lionizers in Turbo Sealed but pull no Orange. When I KO'd Lionizer, would she be forced to scrap EM24 IR Laser Launcher, or could she choose not to attach Lionizer?

Yes, you must attach the Battle Master's Upgrade side. When you attach the Battle Master, you must scrap the older upgrade; in this case, EM24 IR Laser Launcher.
Source: Wizards of the Coast (2019-07-12)    【Link to Ruling】
Tags: Battle Master
Are the current face-down side of a character card considered Hidden Information?

No. You may see the face-down sides of your opponent's character cards at any time, but please ask respectfully.
Source: Wizards of the Coast (2019-07-12)    【Link to Ruling】
Tags: Deck
If I open a card in a Limited Format that says "grab a card from outside the game" am I allowed to dip into my personal collection for this (assuming I brought it ahead of time) or just the sideboard of my Limited Pool? If I have a lesser collection (or am just lazy), am I allowed to use cards from my Sideboard for my Outside-of-the-Game-Board? Or is this a Head Judge for an event decision?

For casual play, you are allowed to use whatever parameters your play group has decided on. For competitive play, in Limited, you are only allowed to draw "outside the game" cards from your Limited pool.

Editor's Note: In our initial ruling, we misstated our answer and accidentally ruled that "outside the game" cards must be limited to one's sideboard. This is incorrect.They later changed competitive rules to require battle cards to come from the sideboard.
Source: Wizards of the Coast (2019-07-12)    【Link to Ruling】
Tags: Sideboarding
Say I play Infiltrate on my turn, then on my opponent's turn they play Focus Fire, which lets them play a second Focus Fire, which then lets them play the 3rd Focus Fire.

If I reveal my Infiltrate and negate their first Focus Fire, does it negate the other 2 as well since the first one is discarded?


If you negate a Focus Fire, it also negates the ability of Focus Fire to play other instances of Focus Fire, stopping the chain.
Source: Wizards of the Coast (2019-07-12)    【Link to Ruling】
Tags:
If I played Heroism on Insecticon Leader Skrapnel, would the redirected attack damage to Skrapnel still be reduced to 3?

Yes, redirected damage from Heroism is still attack damage.
Source: Wizards of the Coast (2019-07-12)    【Link to Ruling】
Tags: Insecticon Skrapnel, Insecticon Leader
Secret Actions say they scrap at the end of my opponent's turn. If I Brainstorm, Secret Action, Peace Through Tyranny, how long does the Secret Action stay out? Will it stay out for my second turn, until it is my opponent's turn, and then scrap at the end of their turn? Or do Secret Actions just scrap at the end of the following turn, so it would scrap at the end of my second turn?

It will stay out for your second turn and scrap at the end of your opponent's turn.
Source: Wizards of the Coast (2019-07-12)    【Link to Ruling】
Tags: Peace through Tyranny, Brainstorm, Secret Action
If I am playing a team of Decepticon characters, can I still play Press the Advantage? None of my characters would get an attack boost, but a defending Decepticon gets -2 defense?

Yes, you may play Press the Advantage. You don't have an Autobot to give +2 attack to, but you can still give an enemy Decepticon -2 defense.
Note: Any Decepticons on your team will no longer be welcome at the Decepticon company barbecue after you do this.
Source: Wizards of the Coast (2019-07-12)    【Link to Ruling】
Tags:
If I play Hunker Down and flip Darkmount to tank mode can I then choose to activate to Darkmount's ability to discard a card from my hand before equipping an armor?

No, you must finish resolving Hunker Down before any triggered abilities from character flips are resolved.
Source: Wizards of the Coast (2019-07-12)    【Link to Ruling】
Tags: Darkmount, Cruel Overlord
How does Alpha Trion's ability interact with Inverted?

While equipped with inverted, an attacking Alpha Trion may play an action with an orange icon they've flipped (because it counts as a blue icon). He will not be able to play any actions with blue icons you may flip, because they count as orange. "Good job!" - The Design Team.
Source: Wizards of the Coast (2019-07-12)    【Link to Ruling】
Tags:
Ancient Wisdom states, "You may play Unleash Potential." Do that mean it's allowing you it as a second action for that turn? If yes, can you play two Unleash Potentials? The text doesn't specify a quantity.

You may play one Unleash Potential.
Source: Wizards of the Coast (2019-07-12)    【Link to Ruling】
Tags:
Can I play Ion Blaster of Optimus Prime on General Optimus Prime? Ion Blaster says "Play on Optimus Prime only", so would the word "General" in his name disallow it?

Just because he's a General doesn't mean he's any less Prime! You may indeed play Ion Blaster on General Prime.
Source: Wizards of the Coast (2019-07-12)    【Link to Ruling】
Tags:
If I use I Still Function! to bring back Skywarp - Teleporting Seeker from the KO area, does his ability trigger (assuming he's on his bot mode)?

No. The ability only functions on the battlefield. By the time he's returned to the battlefield, you've already played I Still Function.
Source: Wizards of the Coast (2019-07-12)    【Link to Ruling】
Tags:
If I were to have any Battle Master in upgrade form attached to a character ,and my opponent plays Raider Ion Storm's ability of "when this attacks return the defender's upgrade to its owner's hand," what happens to the Battle Masters? If they leave the battlefield, do they go to the KO area?

Yes. They go to the KO area.
Source: Wizards of the Coast (2019-07-12)    【Link to Ruling】
Tags:
If I Bolster into a Multi Mission Gear, can I play Dampening Field and it activates?

You can play Dampening Field, but it would be past the point where it would trigger.
Source: Wizards of the Coast (2019-07-12)    【Link to Ruling】
Tags:
What happens if you use a green battle icon if your opponent has Decepticon Shockwave - Cybertron Commander in bot mode?

Green battle icons are a swap effect, not a scrap-from-your-hand effect.
Source: Wizards of the Coast (2019-07-12)    【Link to Ruling】
Tags:
When Private Pteraxadon is in weapon mode (AKA Binary Edgewing Scythe), it says the defender's base armor value becomes zero during this battle. Does that count any armor bonuses from upgrades as well? Or does it only apply to the printed value on the bot?

Private Pteraxadon's weapon mode ability specifies that it only applies to an opponent's base defense, so it would not include defense from any upgrades or flipped battle cards.
Source: Wizards of the Coast (2019-07-12)    【Link to Ruling】
Tags:
When I attack with Blitzwing - Relentless Foe and don't flip at least [Orange][Blue]... I don't draw a card, but can I still flip to other mode after the battle?

No, you may not. That is all one ability.
Source: Wizards of the Coast (2019-07-12)    【Link to Ruling】
Tags:
Question regarding Backup Bag + Grenade Launcher / Power Punch / RR Disruptor Blade Can I scrap backup bag instead of a weapon?

Yes!
Source: Wizards of the Coast (2019-07-12)    【Link to Ruling】
Tags:
Question regarding Dismantling Claw / Reactive Armor. When character with such upgrade is KO'd can I use this ability?

Yes, you can!
Source: Wizards of the Coast (2019-07-12)    【Link to Ruling】
Tags:
When you "put a cassette from the battlefield under it" does the mini-cassette heal to full or keep its damage/upgrades?

All of the damage is removed, and the cassette is essentially healed to full. All upgrades attached to the cassette when it's moved under its deployer are scrapped.
Source: Wizards of the Coast (2019-07-12)    【Link to Ruling】
Tags:
I have a tapped Flamewar - Veteran Decepticon with 3 life remaining with 2 other untapped characters and a facedown Bolster. My opponent has 3 untapped characters and taps their attacker, declaring Flamewar as my defender. Because the conditions are met, I reveal Bolster and play Multi-Mission Gear onto my Flamewar. That triggers Multi-Mission Gear and allows me to play an action, which I choose to play One Shall Stand, One Shall Fall targeting my Flamewar and one of my opponent's characters. This kills my Flamewar but the attacker still lives. What happens in this scenario? Does my opponent lose their attack because the defender was killed prior to battle cards being flipped? Or does my opponent get to choose another attack target?

Your opponent has already chosen who they are attacking, so the attack would end because there is no longer a defender.
Source: Wizards of the Coast (2019-07-12)    【Link to Ruling】
Tags:
Infiltrate and Peace Through Tyranny - since the ruling was made that one can choose if a Secret Action triggers. Can I wait to see if the person playing PTT KO's one of his characters before deciding to reveal Infiltrate?

No, you cannot. KO'ing a character is part of Peace Through Tyranny's effect, so it would be too late to reveal your Infiltrate.
Also, it would just be a straight up super not cool thing to do, man.
Source: Wizards of the Coast (2019-07-12)    【Link to Ruling】
Tags:
With Pop a Wheelie, the 2nd attack isn't from the same bot that attacked the turn the card was played, correct? I would need to have another untapped motorcycle make the 2nd attack?

Correct. If you have another untapped motorcycle on your team, you can attack again. However, note that the first attacker does not have to be a motorcycle.
Source: Wizards of the Coast (2019-07-12)    【Link to Ruling】
Tags: Pop a Wheelie, Attacking