-
You can manage & track your card collection and decks once you create an account and login.

Trait: Battle Master Rulings
What are Battle Masters?

Battle Masters are characters that start in bot mode and can be played in their upgrade mode
after they are KO’d. Battle Masters don’t have an alt mode and can’t flip while they are on the
battlefield. There are both Autobot and Decepticon Battle Masters.
Source: Wizards of the Coast (2019-03-01)    【Link to Ruling】
Tags: Battle Master
Battle Masters are the same size as battle cards! What does that mean?

The size of the card doesn’t change how they play. While in bot mode, Battle Masters are
just like other characters. They can attack and be attacked, they can be damaged, they can be
upgraded, and so on.
Source: Wizards of the Coast (2019-03-01)    【Link to Ruling】
Tags: Battle Master
If Battle Masters don’t have an alt mode, how do they start the game?

They start on the battlefield in bot mode.
Source: Wizards of the Coast (2019-03-01)    【Link to Ruling】
Tags: Battle Master
If a card tells me to flip a Battle Master, what happens?

It doesn’t flip. It just stays in bot mode. If the card has additional instructions, those are still
followed if possible.
Source: Wizards of the Coast (2019-03-01)    【Link to Ruling】
Tags: Battle Master
So how do I access the upgrade mode?

If a Battle Master in bot mode is KO’d, you can immediately flip the card and play its other
mode.
Source: Wizards of the Coast (2019-03-01)    【Link to Ruling】
Tags: Battle Master
Most of the time, characters are KO’d on their opponent’s turn. If that happens to my Battle
Master, can I still play the upgrade?


Yes. This may cause some abilities to trigger that normally don’t during your opponent’s turn.
Source: Wizards of the Coast (2019-03-01)    【Link to Ruling】
Tags: Battle Master
When I play the Battle Master in upgrade mode, does it count as my upgrade play for the
turn?


No. If you played an upgrade earlier in the turn, you can still play the Battle Master in its
upgrade mode after it’s KO’d in bot mode.
In some unusual situations, your Battle Master in bot mode is KO’d during your turn before you
attack. Playing the upgrade mode in those situations doesn’t stop you from then playing an
upgrade from your hand before you attack.
Source: Wizards of the Coast (2019-03-01)    【Link to Ruling】
Tags: Battle Master
What happens if the Battle Master upgrade would leave the battlefield?

If that happens, the card is put into your KO area with its upgrade mode face up. This can
happen if the upgrade would be returned to your hand, returned to your deck, directly
scrapped, or if the character that had it is KO’d.
Source: Wizards of the Coast (2019-03-01)    【Link to Ruling】
Tags: Battle Master
Regarding when Battle Masters go to the KO area when they're removed from the battlefield in upgrade mode: Do they switch to bot mode when they go there or do they stay in upgrade mode? And if they do stay in upgrade mode, how does this interact with Emergency Maintenance?

They stay on their Upgrade side and it does not interact with Emergency Maintenance because upgrades are not counted as characters.
Source: Wizards of the Coast (2019-04-12)    【Link to Ruling】
Tags: Battle Master, KO
So, when a Battle Master is KO'd, does it count as a KO since they are technically not sent to the KO pile? Or is the instance of "KO" simply contingent on reaching your HP total?

It is a KO and they go to the KO Area, before flipping to its Upgrade side.
Source: Wizards of the Coast (2019-04-12)    【Link to Ruling】
Tags: Battle Master, KO
Can you use I Still Function to replay a Battle Master?

Hard no.
Source: Wizards of the Coast (2019-05-10)    【Link to Ruling】
Tags: I Still Function!, Battle Master
Do you have to attach the Battle Master's Upgrade side? My Wife pulled 2 Lionizers in Turbo Sealed but pull no Orange. When I KO'd Lionizer, would she be forced to scrap EM24 IR Laser Launcher, or could she choose not to attach Lionizer?

Yes, you must attach the Battle Master's Upgrade side. When you attach the Battle Master, you must scrap the older upgrade; in this case, EM24 IR Laser Launcher.
Source: Wizards of the Coast (2019-07-12)    【Link to Ruling】
Tags: Battle Master
Do Battle Masters in Upgrade mode count towards Stars in the KO area for Emergency Maintenance?

No. When in Upgrade mode, Battle Masters do not count as characters, so they would not be counted by Emergency Maintenance on the battlefield or in the KO area.
Source: Wizards of the Coast (2019-07-29)    【Link to Ruling】
Tags: Battle Master
Once a Battle Master is in the KO pile does it still count as a character while in it's upgrade mode? Can I bring it back to the field with ISF? Is it forced back into bot mode to take the damage if it can? If not does it automatically equip? if it can equip, is it forced to ko pile at the end of the turn?

No, no, not applicable, not applicable, not applicable.
Source: Wizards of the Coast (2019-07-29)    【Link to Ruling】
Tags: I Still Function!, Battle Master
If a Battle Master or Weaponizer is in the KO Pile, and the match runs to time and damage on all characters is assessed, should they count their damage for that total, or are they simply an upgrade with no damage on them?

They are an upgrade with no damage on them.This FAQ item refers to a form of tie-breaker from November 2019 tournament rules prior to November 2019. It is no longer relevant.
Source: Wizards of the Coast (2019-08-09)    【Link to Ruling】
Tags: Weaponizer, Battle Master, KO, Tie-Break
Would Cornered work on a Battle Master causing it to flip to its upgrade side? If yes, what would happen to the upgrade?

No, you can’t flip a Battle Master while it’s on the battlefield.
Source: Wizards of the Coast (2019-08-09)    【Link to Ruling】
Tags: Cornered!, Battle Master
What are Battle Masters & Weaponizers?

Battle Masters and Weaponizers are characters that start in bot mode and can be played in their Upgrade mode after they are KO’d. They don’t have alt modes and can’t flip while they are on the battlefield.
In Siege 2 (Wave 4), there are two Weaponizers, each made up of two cards. They start assembled together in bot mode. When one of these Weaponizers is KO’d, it splits into two different Upgrades that you can then play. These Upgrades can be played on separate characters or onto the same character.
After a Battle Master or Weaponizer Upgrade would leave the battlefield, it’s put into your KO area instead.
Source: Wizards of the Coast (2019-11-08)    【Link to Ruling】
Tags: Weaponizer, Battle Master
Can I KO a Battle Master with Involuntary Promotion if I have no bots in my KO area?

Yes. If you have no characters in KO or the characters in your KO area have too many stars, you can use Involuntary Promotion to KO one of your characters.
Source: Wizards of the Coast (2019-11-09)    【Link to Ruling】
Tags: Battle Master