-
You can manage & track your card collection and decks once you create an account and login.

Term: KO Rulings
If one of my characters is KO’d, does it keep its damage counters?

A KO’d character has damage counters on it equal to its health. Note that this is true even if it took
more damage while on the battlefield. For example, if a character with 7 health takes 10 damage, it ends
up in the KO area with 7 damage counters.
Source: Wizards of the Coast (2018-10-11)    【Link to Ruling】
Tags: KO
If one of my characters is KO’d, what mode is it in?

Characters don’t change modes when are KO’d. If a character was in bot mode when it was KO’d, it
will be put in the KO area in bot mode.
Source: Wizards of the Coast (2018-10-11)    【Link to Ruling】
Tags: KO
If a card returns a KO’d character to the battlefield, what mode is it in? Is it tapped or untapped?

Unless the card that returns the character says otherwise, it will be untapped and in the same mode it
was in the KO area.
Source: Wizards of the Coast (2018-10-11)    【Link to Ruling】
Tags: KO
Does transforming a Car-mode character in the KO pile activate Cliffjumper's alternate mode ability?

Not unless specifically stated. K.O.’d characters flipping wont trigger any abilities unless otherwise stated.
Source: Wizards of the Coast (2019-01-25)    【Link to Ruling】
Tags: KO, Play
If a character flips in the KO area, will you benefit from any "When this character flips to this mode -" abilities? Do flip abilities matter if they're on the field or in the KO area, as long as the action of flipping happens?

K.O.’d characters flip abilities do not trigger when flipped unless specifically stated.
Source: Wizards of the Coast (2019-01-25)    【Link to Ruling】
Tags: KO
Do you check for KO as soon as you calculate damage or is it at the end of the attack phase? Is there a specific order for extra damage calculation outside the normal attack? This matters because of Reckless Charge potentially KOing both attacker and defender simultaneously. It also matters because of Electrified Spikes.

We are constantly checking for KO. In the case of Electrified Spikes, it will deal the damage to the attacker before combat damage is assigned. If the attacker is Ransack in bot-mode, he will benefit from the additional damage and increase his attack by 1.
Source: Wizards of the Coast (2019-02-11)    【Link to Ruling】
Tags: KO
If a combiner is KO'd, do each of its individual components get put into the KO space, or does it stay a combiner? If it's the components, do they get KO'd in bot mode?

It is KO’d in combiner mode. That is generally the end of the game, but in corner cases like Volcanicus and REDACTED this can come up.
Source: Wizards of the Coast (2019-02-11)    【Link to Ruling】
Tags: Combiner, KO
Can you heal damage from Characters in your K.O. Area?

No.
Source: Wizards of the Coast (2019-02-18)    【Link to Ruling】
Tags: KO
1. "When this is in your KO area and you flip to this mode => [do something]"
This suggests to me that A) you can flip characters in the KO area, and B) character abilities are active while in the KO area. Is this correct?
2. If the answer to either the above is "yes", how does a card like Ransack work while in KO?
"When you flip to this mode => move 2 damage counters from another character to this one."


1. Yes, when you flip a character in your turn, you can flip a character on the battlefield or in your KO area.
2. Abilities only function in the KO area if they specifically say so. Most abilities, like Ransack’s, do not function in the KO area.
Source: Wizards of the Coast (2019-04-05)    【Link to Ruling】
Tags: KO
Regarding when Battle Masters go to the KO area when they're removed from the battlefield in upgrade mode: Do they switch to bot mode when they go there or do they stay in upgrade mode? And if they do stay in upgrade mode, how does this interact with Emergency Maintenance?

They stay on their Upgrade side and it does not interact with Emergency Maintenance because upgrades are not counted as characters.
Source: Wizards of the Coast (2019-04-12)    【Link to Ruling】
Tags: Battle Master, KO
So, when a Battle Master is KO'd, does it count as a KO since they are technically not sent to the KO pile? Or is the instance of "KO" simply contingent on reaching your HP total?

It is a KO and they go to the KO Area, before flipping to its Upgrade side.
Source: Wizards of the Coast (2019-04-12)    【Link to Ruling】
Tags: Battle Master, KO
When KO’d, a Battle Master comes back as a weapon. Then once it gets destroyed, it goes into the KO area. My question is, can you flip it back to bot mode in the KO area after it falls off?

No. You may only flip characters in the KO area using your normal once-per-turn flip.
Source: Wizards of the Coast (2019-05-02)    【Link to Ruling】
Tags: KO
If a Battle Master or Weaponizer is in the KO Pile, and the match runs to time and damage on all characters is assessed, should they count their damage for that total, or are they simply an upgrade with no damage on them?

They are an upgrade with no damage on them.This FAQ item refers to a form of tie-breaker from November 2019 tournament rules prior to November 2019. It is no longer relevant.
Source: Wizards of the Coast (2019-08-09)    【Link to Ruling】
Tags: Weaponizer, Battle Master, KO, Tie-Break
When a character is KO'd as part of resolving a card effect, like Peace Through Tyranny, is the character put into the KO area fully damaged, or only with the amount of damage it had when it was KO'd?

Characters in KO are always fully damaged.
Source: Wizards of the Coast (2019-11-22)    【Link to Ruling】
Tags: KO
Can you clarify timing on when heads activate in regard to finishing a trigger that caused the Body to be KO'd? Examples: Does Decepticon Quake damage his own Head when he dies? Octone killing a Body and then his bounty triggers does this kill the Head when it is played?

A head's deploy ability is a triggered ability. When both players trigger an ability at the same time the active players abilities will complete before the defending player. A player may order their own simultaneous triggers how they wish. The player controlling Quake may order Quake's damage trigger and Quake's head's deploy trigger such that Quake's damage ability resolves first, and Quake's head second. If Octone's controller is the active player, they must use Octone's bounty trigger before the defending player resolves their heads deploy trigger. This answer is an update on the originally published answer in the Roundup

An important rule to remember: The game checks for a player controlling zero characters at all times. However, Head character's deploy ability includes the following: 'When that character is KO'ed, even if it was your last character, deploy this battlefield in bot mode.' This is why you don't lose if your last character, a Body with a head, gets KOed.
Source: Wizards of the Coast (2020-06-10)    【Link to Ruling】
Tags: Decepticon Quake, Ground Assault, Head, Body, KO