-
You can manage & track your card collection and decks once you create an account and login.

Rules Roundup: 2023-07-05
So Wreck-Gar gets Bold 1 and Tough 1 while he has a Bold or Tough upgrade. Does that work for upgrades such as Staggering Might and Combat Training, even when they don't actually give him Bold or Tough at the time?

Yes. A " Upgrade" is an upgrade that could give or has an effect if the character has .
For example, Staggering Might could give a character Bold, so it's a Bold upgrade. Conversely, Polarity Gauntlet does not give a character Bold, so it is not a Bold upgrade.
Source: Aequitas (2023-07-05)    【Link to Ruling】
Tags: Wreck-Gar, The Big Cheese! Now With More Cheese!
Do you get a counter on Thermal Reciprocation when your Powerglide is KO'd by damage?

Yes
Source: Aequitas (2023-07-05)    【Link to Ruling】
Tags: Thermal Reciprocation
Can Nacelle's bot mode be used to play an upgrade on your first turn if you go first? What about on your first turn if you go second?

Nacelle cannot be used on your first turn if you go first. He increases the number of permitted plays (with a restriction), but the player needs that permission (In this case, being able to play an upgrade) in the first place to use it.

If you go second, you are able to play an upgrade using Nacelle during your turn, meaning you can play up to one card and also play an Upgrade onto a Decepticon with no printed abilities.
Source: Aequitas (2023-07-05)    【Link to Ruling】
Tags: Nacelle, Eager Aerospace Engineer
Regarding sideboarding, can I side out a combination of characters and star cards for 1 other character?

Yes. You absolutely could side out, for example, two characters and 3 star battle cards to bring in a bigger character from your sideboard. Just be sure after siding, your sideboard does not contain more than 10 battle cards and/or stratagems.
Source: Aequitas (2023-07-05)    【Link to Ruling】
Tags: Sideboarding
Can you use I Still Function! to return Sentinel Prime to the battlefield?

No. A Body Mode character needs a Head to enter the Battlefield, and there is no way to reattach a Head once it deploys from a Body.
Source: Aequitas (2023-07-05)    【Link to Ruling】
Tags: I Still Function!, Sentinel Prime, Legacy of the Primes, Body
On General Optimus Prime, Galactic Commander, after I have flipped and swapped a green card for a Blue/Orange upgrade in my hand, can I use Prime's bot mode to play the upgrade I swapped out?

No. Swapping a card for a card with a green icon is not flipping that card for battle, so it would not be eligible for Prime's effect.
Source: Aequitas (2023-07-05)    【Link to Ruling】
Tags: General Optimus Prime, Galactic Commander
So say I have Bug Bomb on an Insecticon that's KO'd. You draw your last card with its ability. Does the Bug Bomb get shuffled into the deck, or does it go to the scrap?

It would get shuffled into the deck.
Source: Aequitas (2023-07-05)    【Link to Ruling】
Tags: Bug Bomb
Armed to the Teeth says "You may play any number of Weapons onto your characters." How does this work when I have 5 Weapons in hand an a single character on the field? Also, what happens if one (or more!) of those weapons is Junk Cannon?

Each Weapon is played sequentially and will immediately replace (scrap) the previous weapon on the character (if any). Effects that trigger on the character being upgraded will trigger as normal. Each Junk Cannon will see itself and the Weapon that replaces it played, but not further weapons.
Source: Aequitas (2023-07-05)    【Link to Ruling】
Tags: Armed To The Teeth, Junk Cannon
What happens if Motormaster in bot mode redirects an attack from Eyuk in bot mode into a non-Melee character?

Eyuk's ability would resolve. Motormaster's bot mode is a replacement effect that happens at the "Declare defender" step of an attack, while Eyuk's resolves at the "Resolve 'When this attacks' triggers" step, after Motormaster's ability has resolved.
Source: Aequitas (2023-07-05)    【Link to Ruling】
Tags: Motormaster, Stunticon Leader, Allicon Eyuk, Bog Scavenger
Does Bollag trigger multiple times if multiple weapons are played at the same time on the same character via something like Armed to the Teeth?

Yes. Bollag triggers each time a character is upgraded with a Weapon, even if multiple weapons are put onto a single character.
Source: Aequitas (2023-07-05)    【Link to Ruling】
Tags: High Bailiff Bollag, Court Knight
Say I have Wave 1 Chromia plus Bike Gang, and the rest of my team are Junkion Vehicles. Chromia attacks in bot mode, takes a station on one of my Junkions, and flips two white icons. Does she get +2 Attack because she was a Motorcycle when she flipped battle cards, or does she not get it because she wasn't a Motorcycle when she attacked?

She would get the +2 Attack. Bike Gang checks for having the Motorcycle trait when flipping battle cards, at which point Chromia will have the Motorcycle trait from the Junkion station she jumps into.
Source: Aequitas (2023-07-05)    【Link to Ruling】
Tags: Bike Gang
If you play One Shall Stand, One Shall Fall from your opponent's scrap, and you choose to hit your character upgraded with Holomatter Projector, does Holomatter protect you from the damage from "your opponent's" card?

No. The card is effectively considered your card since you're the one playing it, even though your opponent is the one who owns it.
Source: Aequitas (2023-07-05)    【Link to Ruling】
Tags: Nightbird, Enigmatic Agent, Holomatter Projector
Let's say Countdown would take 4 attack damage. I use Omega Supreme's bot mode to have him take 2 of it, so Countdown only takes 2. Is the 2 damage Omega takes considered attack damage for the purpose of Countdown, and therefore move 1 damage off each of them onto the attacker?

It is attack damage. Omega's bot mode is basically a weaker version of Heroism, and that's been ruled that damage taken via Heroism is considered attack damage. This means that after resolving Omega, if Countdown still takes 2 or more attack damage and isn't KO'd, you get to resolve Countdown for both himself and Omega.
Source: Aequitas (2023-07-05)    【Link to Ruling】
Tags: Omega Supreme, Autobot Defense Base, Autobot Countdown, Aerospace Commander
So with Cutthroat's bot mode, when one of my Terrorcons is KO'd, I untap one of my 4-Star Terrorcons. Does this mean when he is KO'd, he will untap someone?

Yes.
Source: Aequitas (2023-07-05)    【Link to Ruling】
Tags: Terrorcon Cutthroat, Shock and Cawww
When do hybrid green icons check if they're able to be picked up?

Hybrid icons check for the trait at the time they are flipped, and immediately apply their effect. The Green icon effect just happens to be "you may swap this for a card in your hand after the battle". A Ranged character flipping, for example, a Paralyzo Box during defense, then being flipped to a non-Ranged mode after the battle will still be allowed to swap for the Box since they had the appropriate trait when the Box was flipped.
Source: Aequitas (2023-07-05)    【Link to Ruling】
Tags: Green Battle Icons
So, Nucleon Exposure vs. Abominus's combine ability. If I don't flip my characters because of Nucleon Exposure, do they still take the 2 damage? They "can't flip this way" - as in my opponent can't flip them this way due to the Nucleon Exposure.

If you reveal Nucleon Exposure to Abominus, then each of your characters that don't flip from the Exposure will take 2 damage. Exposure replaces "flip all characters" with "you may flip one, mode lock the others". Because you can't flip the other characters, Abominus does damage to them.
Source: Aequitas (2023-07-05)    【Link to Ruling】
Tags: Abominus, Hellsparked Horror, Nucleon Exposure
If a character has 2 Paralyzo Boxes on them, when it looks for checks, do they check at the same time or is it ask, check, ask, check

You guess an icon color for the first Box, see if it's correct, then make a "guess" for the second with the knowledge of the first Box's guess.
Source: Aequitas (2023-07-05)    【Link to Ruling】
Tags: Paralyzo Box
So Sinnertwins alt mode returns an upgrade your opponent plays to their hand by you revealing two of the same type and scrapping one of them. Does the upgrade actually end up on the character at any point, and, if so, get any when you put or when you play triggers?

It does not end up on the character, and any "When you put" or "When you play" triggers do not resolve.
Source: Aequitas (2023-07-05)    【Link to Ruling】
Tags: Sinnertwin, Two-Faced Disgrace
Say I have a Jam Signals set and my opponent plays a Leap Into Battle. Does my opponent declare who would get the +3 Attack from Leap before I decide whether to reveal Jam Signals, or do I have to decide on revealing Jam Signals first?

If your opponent jumps ahead and says "I'm going to play Leap onto Prowl" while you have a Jam Signals set, you can react to it and flip Jam Signals.
Source: Aequitas (2023-07-05)    【Link to Ruling】
Tags: Infiltrate, Jam Signals, Overrule, Lost In Transit, Unfathomable Motives
How does Durable Decepticon work with Toolbox? If I put 5 cards under Raider Skytread, do I repair for 10?
No. Toolbox replaces the amount of repair being done, so you would still only repair the maximum of 5 from Raider Skytread, though you would do it as Repair 2, Repair 2, Repair 1, Repair 0, Repair 0. Toolbox is advantageous when you are putting 1 or 2 cards under Raider Skytread.
Source: Aequitas (2023-07-05)    【Link to Ruling】
Tags: Durable Decepticon, Toolbox, Raider Skytread, Special Ops • Soldier
If I have Ultra Magnus with Impervious with his Armor equipped to him. My opponent plays drill arms. I then instead scrap an armor from my hand to save my Ultra Magnus Armor. Does my opponent now draw a card?

Your opponent couldn't scrap the Ultra Magnus Armor due to Impervious, so Drill Arms would allow them to draw a card.
Source: Aequitas (2023-07-05)    【Link to Ruling】
Tags: Impervious
If I play Guilty or Innocent on Rippersnapper and choose the "Enemies can't use Tough this battle" option, does that mean Rippersnapper's bot mode will reduce the defender's defense?

No. Guilty or Innocent simply prevents the defender from using Tough. It does not get rid of it. Therefore, the defender is still a defender with Tough, and Rippersnapper cannot use his bot mode ability as a result.
Source: Aequitas (2023-07-05)    【Link to Ruling】
Tags: Guilty or Innocent, Terrorcon Rippersnapper, Tooth and Nail
Ok, weird question involving Junkheap:

His ability reads "When this defends and your opponent flips battle cards You may have your opponent scrap one of the cards of your choice they flip this battle without using its battle icons." What happens if your opponent flips a white icon in their first two cards?

(This also applies to Clench's alt mode as well, which reads "Once per turn, when this defends and you flip battle cards You may scrap one of your cards flipped this battle without using its icons")


Similar to Recon System, Clench and Junkheap happen before the extra flips from a White icon. Any card(s) scrapped by them don't have their icons used, but are still flipped for cards that care about what was flipped (Starscream, Skywarp, etc).
Source: Aequitas (2023-07-05)    【Link to Ruling】
Tags: Junkheap, Wrecked to Ruin! Keeps on Doin'!, Clench, Colossus of Obliteration, Recon System
Say I attack with a Ranged character that has a Sturdy Javelin and some combination of other upgrades that produce the Overwhelming Advantage combination. I play OA, attack with the character, then scrap the Sturdy Javelin to do 2 damage to someone. Do I then lose the ability to trigger OA?

Yes. The upgrade check is made when flipping battle cards, so if you no longer have all colors among your Upgrades, OA cannot be fired.
Source: Aequitas (2023-07-05)    【Link to Ruling】
Tags: Overwhelming Advantage
So say a character with Oppress 1 attacks Topspin with Clobber as his head (Bold 3) and no other sources of Bold. How does Oppress interact with Topspin's Tough here?

The static ability of Topspin's alt mode (As well as the opposite side of Malevolent Architect) that sets their Tough equal to their Bold always applies before Oppress kicks in. Then Oppress will reduce each total by whatever the Oppress value is. So with Topspin + Clobber, Topspin will have Bold 2, and thus Tough 2 after Oppress is applied.
Source: Aequitas (2023-07-05)    【Link to Ruling】
Tags: Clobber, Topspin, Air & Space Assault, Oppress
When Rage triggers off of a character tapping to attack, is the defender declared before or after Rage resolves?

The defender is declared after Rage resolves.
Source: Aequitas (2023-07-05)    【Link to Ruling】
Tags: Rage
How does the first requirement of This Shall Be Your Ship interact with secret actions? Do I need to reveal to my opponent that it is a secret action of a certain faction, or can secret actions not count for that requirement?

Secret Actions you play, in addition to being considered to have no icons, are considered to have no faction. Therefore, you cannot use a secret to fulfill that requirement on This Shall Be Your Ship.
Source: Aequitas (2023-07-05)    【Link to Ruling】
Tags: This Shall Be Your Ship
If I combine Abominus against a cars deck, and choose to flip all of their characters (say for the sake of simplicity that everyones in alt to start with, so they flip to bot mode). If my opponent has Cliffjumper, will he see the other cars flipping to bot mode and draw cards, or does he not see them because hes in bot mode as well?

The characters flip simultaneously. Cliffjumper will not trigger for any of them. Also, if you had Cliffjumper in Bot mode and the other Cars in alt mode and resolved Abominus's trigger, Cliff still won't trigger, since Cliffjumper's alt mode needs to "see" the entire flip event.
Source: Aequitas (2023-07-05)    【Link to Ruling】
Tags: Abominus, Hellsparked Horror, Cliffjumper, Renegade Warrior, Cliffjumper, Renegade Warrior
If Ransack in bot mode gets Turnabout Snare'd, is his base attack considered the number of damage counters on him for that purpose?

Yes.
Source: Aequitas (2023-07-05)    【Link to Ruling】
Tags: Ransack, Insecticon Commando, Turnabout Snare
Would Armed to the Teeth allow you to play a weapon followed by a Master Sword?

Yes
Source: Aequitas (2023-07-05)    【Link to Ruling】
Tags: Armed To The Teeth, Master Sword
Say I have Point-Defense System on my defending character and Soundbarrier on my team.

How would the interaction work if the enemy attacker flipped 5 black icons with no pierce else where.

How would the interaction work if my opponent flipped 5 black icons and had a piercing blaster equipped?


Soundbarrier only looks at the Black icons flipped and does not take any other effects into account. Additionally, Soundbarrier triggers on the announcement of attacker and defender, and then sets a rule that only the first 3 black icons apply that battle and the rest are ignored.

Point Defense System vs 5 Black Icons = Pierce 1.

Piercing Blaster + 5 Black Icons vs Point Defense System = Pierce 4.

Source: Aequitas (2023-07-05)    【Link to Ruling】
Tags: Soundbarrier, Grudging Foot Soldier Support, Point-Defense System
Does Open Agenda count as drawing cards? Does it get around effects that trigger when you draw extra cards, like Caliburst?

It does not. So adding cards to your hand via Open Agenda does not trigger Caliburst.
Source: Aequitas (2023-07-05)    【Link to Ruling】
Tags: Raider Caliburst, Air Force Weapons, Open Agenda
Say I have a character in alt mode with a Rapid Response Cycle. If that character were to take attack damage, could I use The Great Escape to KO them?

No. Rapid Response Cycle only gives a character the Motorcycle trait while that character is in bot mode. While the character is in alt mode, the condition to have the Motorcycle trait is not met, and thus the character does not have a Motorcycle mode, meaning you could not use The Great Escape on them.
Source: Aequitas (2023-07-05)    【Link to Ruling】
Tags: Rapid Response Cycle, The Great Escape